My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Williamson County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

S. ANDERSON, an influential citizen of this district, was born in Williamson County in the year 1825, and is one of eight children born to Joseph and Sallie (Hartley) Anderson. Mr. Anderson has followed farming from early boyhood. In 1847 he married Miss Ella Hartley, a native of this county, born in 1827, and the daughter of Laburn and Nancy (Carson) Hartley. To our subject and wife were born nine children: Sarah C., born August 14, 1849; Thomas W., August 14, 1851; John W., August 27, 1853; William P., March 27, 1854; Sophia E., April 11, 1856; Robert B., deceased, born April 27, 1858; Berry G., born January 27, 1861; Eliza J., August 27, 1864, and Tennessee, March 29, 1868. In 1857 our subject moved to the farm upon which he is now living, which is known as “Cross Key’s.” It contains 190 acres of land in a fine state of cultivation. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a Democrat in politics. He and wife are worthy members of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Williamson County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Williamson County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Williamson County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Williamson County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.