My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

THOMAS W. COX was born October 7, 1845, in Alabama, and is the son of Middleton and Louisa (Oden) Cox, both natives of Georgia. The subject of this sketch, who is an energetic and successful farmer, was married February 1, 1870, to Miss Emma Overall, and to this union were born five children, four of whom are living: Minos L., Jessie L., Thomas W. and William M. Mr. Cox took an active part in the late war, enlisting in Company A, Thirtieth Alabama Infantry. He was courier for Gen. Pettus during the Georgia campaign, was captured May 16, 1863, and remained a prisoner until July 7, when he was exchanged and returned to his original command, where he served with distinction until the close of the war. Mr. Cox is a Democrat of the most pronounced type, and a member of the Baptist Church. Mrs. Cox is a worthy and consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and they are justly recognized as influential citizens of Rutherford County.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.