My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

ROBERT A. COLEMAN, a merchant of Rutherford County, Tenn., was born February 6, 1859, in this county, and is the son of Edwin and Mary E. (Wrather) Coleman, natives, respectively, of Virginia and Tennessee. The son was reared on a farm and received a moderate education, attending the common country schools. At the age of twenty-one he started in business for himself, clerking in the store that he has since purchased in partnership with his brother, W. B. Coleman. He has met with evident success, and has the postoffice in connection with one of the best general supply stores in the county. In September, 1882, Mr. Coleman was married to Miss Ida Fly. Mr. Coleman is a Democrat and he and wife are members, respectively, of the Methodist Episcopal and Christian Churches South. He is justly considered as one of the leading merchants of the county, a conscientious Christian and one of the influential men of the county.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.