My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

JASPER F. DICKENS (deceased) was a prominent and energetic farmer of Rutherford County, Tenn., and was born in Cannon County, Tenn., November 18, 1828, son of Baxter B. and Nancy (Holt) Dickens, who were also natives of the State. His death, which was a great loss to his family and friends, occurred March 21, 1885. In 1858 he was united in marriage to Miss Mary J. Prater, who was born in Tennessee, and still survives him. They became the parents of eleven children, only eight of whom are now living: Nancy C. (wife of J. A. Todd), died May 7, 1880; William T., Martha E. (died August 15, 1884), Baxter M., Thomas P., Quitnian, Rufus G., Edna F., John T., Charley G. and James, who died February 16, 1886. Mrs. Dickens is a member of the Missionary Baptist Church, and since her husband’s death has resided on and managed the farm, being quite successful in her business transactions. She belongs to one of the leading families of the county.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.