My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

DR. JAMES M. DILL, a widely known practitioner, was born in Rutherford County in 1831, and is a son of Isaac and Gilley (Cooper) Dill, who were natives of South Carolina. the father being an active agriculturist. He departed this life in 1847; the mother died in 1851. They were earnest and faithful members of the Christian Church, and died earnest believers in that faith. The subject of this sketch was united in matrimony to Miss Jestina Kelton August 11, 1857, and to this union seven children were born, only two of whom are living, Joseph W. and Nettie F. Mrs. Dill died February 9, 188-. She was an excellent and charitable lady, and was held in high esteem by a large circle of acquaintances. The Doctor took for his second wife Miss Mary Hill, September 19, 1883. He is a Democrat of the Jacksonian order, and he and his wife are worthy and consistent members of the Christian Church, and are recognized as worthy and influential citizens of the county.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.