My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Bedford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

J. B. DICKENS is a son of Daniel and Matilda (Putnam) Dickens, who were born in 1814. The father died October 13, 1874. The mother was drowned June 20, 1870, while crossing Duck River in a canoe. Our subject was the youngest of their eight children. He was born in Bedford County, Tenn., October 13, 1852. The names of the children are Jasper N., Andrew J., Nellie F., William C., Nancy J., Elizabeth C., Newton and our subject, who was married December 12, 1872, to Jennie Foster, who was born November 21, 1852. To them were born a family of four children: Malcolm A., born in 1873; Clara A., born in 1876; Matilda F., born in 1880, and Sarah G., born in 1884. The mother was the youngest of seven children, their names being Eliza J., Almira M., Malcolm A., Sarah G., Caldonia T., Mary A. and Jennie. Our subject has been a fairly successful financier, and is one of the few men who have made their property through their own exertions. He and wife are members of the Methodist Church, and he is a Republican.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Bedford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Bedford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Bedford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Bedford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.